POLYCATPUF

Organization (Partner)
ICS UPR 22 (Partner 1) JIERRY LoĂŻc Assistant-Professor Coordination surface treatment of the OCPUF
LCM UMR 7509 (Partner 2) RITLENG Vincent Assistant-Professor Catalysis
LAGEP UMR 5007 (Partner 3) EDOUARD David Assistant-Professor Chemical engineering
Adisseo CINACHEM (Partner 4) RICAUD Lionel Engineer

Abstract:
Continuous processes based on Structured Catalytic Supports (SCS) are widely used in industry. Indeed this type of support allows an important surface over volume ratio, a small pressure loss, efficient mass transfers, an intimate mixing of the reagents, and an easy separation of the products from the catalyst. Among the variety of SCS, open cell foams are prime candidates, which fulfill all these features. Of ceramic or metallic constitution, these host architectures are ideal supports for metallic particles. The preparation of these foams however requires several steps, and the physisorption of metallic particles a thermic treatment at very high temperature. This expensive and energy consuming way of preparation represents an important drawback in the development of this kind of catalyst, especially when taking into account the current economic and ecological constraints. Moreover these foams present a number of others drawbacks inherent to their structure: (i) they are heavy and thus difficult to handle, (ii) they are not flexible and usually display micro-cracks, which render them breakable, (iii) they present many closed cells, which renders the reproducibility unpredictable, and (iv) the recovery of the expensive catalyst adsorbed on the foam often necessitates numerous chemical treatments in highly corrosive media.
With POLYCATPUF, we propose an alternative based on the use of polyurethane open cell foams (OCPUF). These foams, commercially available in very large quantities and at low cost, present the same structural properties than ceramic or metallic foams, with the advantage to be easily engineered because of their lightweight and mechanical flexibility (elastomer). Recently, we have demonstrated that the whole surface of this polymeric structured material can be efficiently coated with polydopamine (PDA). This layer of PDA (OCPUF@PDA) allows the grafting of inorganic nanoparticles, as well as the covalent anchoring of organic compounds (Patent WO 2016 012689 A2). Moreover this coating process is industrially valuable because it operates at room temperature in water in the sole presence of dopamine and a buffer. These preliminary results constitute the basis of our project.
POLYCATPUF is a frontier research project that involves the close collaboration of three academic partners, mastered in surface science and materials, catalysis, and chemical engineering, and of an industrial partner. A consortium based on an experience of several years between the partners. The project aims to demonstrate all the potentialities offered by open cell polymeric foams as support for both homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts. First of all, the covalent anchoring of homogeneous catalysts opens the door to a large variety of catalysts that were unconceivable with ceramic or metallic foams. The possibility to graft both single-site and multi-site catalysts allows conceiving processes of combined catalysis. Thanks to the presence of an industrial partner, the use of OCPUF as catalytic support will also be evaluated in an industrial reactor. Finally based on the elastic properties of OCPUF, innovative reactors will be envisioned.
The use of these OCPUF as catalytic supports may thus have a significant scientific, technologic, economic, and ecologic impact on the current industrial processes, from which might benefit the whole society.

POLYCATPUF

Organization (Partner)
ICS UPR 22 (Partner 1) JIERRY Loïc Assistant-Professor Coordination surface treatment of the OCPUF
LCM UMR 7509 (Partner 2) RITLENG Vincent Assistant-Professor Catalysis
LAGEP UMR 5007 (Partner 3) EDOUARD David Assistant-Professor Chemical engineering
Adisseo CINACHEM (Partner 4) RICAUD Lionel Engineer

Résumé
L’utilisation de procédés industriels basés sur des Supports Catalytiques Structurés (SCS) est largement répandue. En effet, ces supports permettent un important rapport surface/volume, une faible perte de charge, des transferts de masse efficaces, un mélange intime des réactifs et une séparation aisée du catalyseur des produits. Parmi les SCS, les mousses à cellules ouvertes sont des candidats de choix car elles remplissent toutes ces caractéristiques. De structure métallique ou céramique, ce sont des supports idéaux de particules métalliques jouant le rôle de catalyseurs. La préparation de ces mousses nécessite cependant plusieurs étapes et la physisorption des particules catalytiques requiert un chauffage à très haute température. Ce mode de préparation, coûteux et vorace en énergie, représente un inconvénient important pour le développement de tels catalyseurs eu égard aux contraintes économiques et écologiques actuelles. En outre, ces mousses présentent des inconvénients liés à leur structure : elles sont lourdes et non flexibles, ce qui les rend cassantes ; elles présentent de nombreuses cellules fermées qui rendent la reproductibilité parfois aléatoire ; la récupération de l’onéreuse phase catalytique nécessite souvent de nombreux traitements chimiques en milieux fortement corrosifs. Par ailleurs, l’industrie chimique tend actuellement à adapter ses procédés de production en fonction de contraintes écologiques et économiques fortes, ce qui se traduit par la recherche de procédés et catalyseurs plus efficaces, l’utilisation de solvants moins toxiques (eau ou mélange organique/eau), et de températures de réaction les plus basses possibles.
Avec POLYCATPUF, nous proposons une alternative basée sur l’utilisation de mousses à cellules ouvertes en polyuréthane (OCPUF) pour des procédés s’opérant en conditions douces. Ces mousses, commercialement disponibles en très large quantité et à faible coût, possèdent les mêmes propriétés structurales que les mousses inorganiques avec l’avantage d’être flexibles et élastiques. Récemment, nous avons découvert qu’elles pouvaient être entièrement recouvertes d’un film de polydopamine (PDA). Ce revêtement déposé dans l’eau à température ambiance est particulièrement robuste et permet le greffage covalent de molécules organiques ainsi que l’ancrage de nanoparticules possédant des propriétés catalytiques. Nous avons récemment protégé cette découverte (brevet WO 2016 012689 A2) et ces résultats préliminaires constituent la base de ce projet.
POLYCATPUF est à l’interface de plusieurs disciplines, impliquant une étroite collaboration multidisciplinaire entre trois partenaires académiques spécialisés dans les domaines des matériaux et de la science des surfaces, de la catalyse organométallique et du génie chimique, et un partenaire industriel. Un consortium basé sur une expérience de quelques années entre les partenaires. Ce projet a pour but de démontrer toutes les potentialités offertes par des mousses polymères comme support de catalyseurs homogènes et hétérogènes. Tout d’abord, le greffage covalent de catalyseurs homogènes ouvre la porte à une vaste palette de catalyses accessibles, jusqu’alors inenvisageables à partir de mousses céramiques ou métalliques. Le greffage possible de catalyseurs homogènes et hétérogènes en surface permet de concevoir des procédés de catalyse combinée. Grâce à la présence d’un partenaire industriel, l’utilisation d’OCPUF comme support catalytique sera également évaluée dans un réacteur industriel. Enfin, ces OCPUF sont souples et élastiques, des propriétés qui laissent entrevoir la conception possible de réacteurs originaux tels qu’envisagés dans notre projet.
L’utilisation de ces OCPUF comme supports catalytiques pourrait donc avoir un impact scientifique et technologique mais aussi économique et écologique significatif sur les procédés industriels actuels dont pourrait bénéficier la société dans son ensemble.